I Should Just Write My Own Damn Cookbook! And An Update…

I have this slowcooker book. Actually, I have two from the same author. One is regular, one is vegetarian. I tried a Stuffed Chile Casserole from the regular book. What a disaster. First off, I don’t know if my technique was wrong or what, but I roasted the poblano chiles in the oven on 500f just like she instructed. They became very dark and black and puffy. I covered them with a damp towel and let them sit for about 10 minutes, just like she instructed. I then attempted to get the skins off, lop off the top and scrape out the seeds…..as she said, “try to keep the chiles whole for stuffing.” Yeah right. I don’t know what this lady’s thinking. The recipe said it serves 4, I bought two extra chiles and it was still only enough for Mr. Dawn and me. *eyeroll* This isn’t the first time her recipes have been “meh”, either. They are very much hit or miss. I made a potato cheese soup once. Well, I tried to make it. After letting it sit in the cooker for the hours specified in the recipe, they were still raw at dinnertime. I had to scramble to make dinner. I just wonder sometimes if these cookbook authors really test their recipes or they just cobble them together and assume it will work! I’m not naming names, because I’m not about bashing someone, but man, I’m about to throw these books out!!! /rant over/

I’m still working out. I only did 2 Body Rocks this week, but I am planning on another one this weekend. I love those workouts. They are intense and leave me positively spent afterwards. The hula hooping fell by the wayside this week, but there’s still a day and a half left for the week, right?? It could happen.

Even though I only worked out twice this week, I made up for it by geocaching for a few hours yesterday. We had our first multicache! This is a cache where you find the cache first with your GPS, then that cache has the coordinates to the actual logged cache. It was very clever. The first cache was a puzzle. We had to squat down on the ground and put it together and then program the coordinates into the GPS. So the exercise was just hiking/walking all around, swinging a stick for the bushwhacking. We try not to leave too many marks, but in summer the overgrowth around caches can be pretty thick. We all had a great time, but I wasn’t too crazy about the bugs, so I think fall and winter are going to be my best geocaching seasons.

Oh, I’ve been experimenting with natural bug spray and I think I have a good one to tell you all about. I tried using baby wipes that I dribbled lavender and tea tree essential oils on. That one didn’t seem to work very well, we still found a few ticks on us during geocaching. I was trying to figure out how to do this, and you know what popped into my head? My Misto olive oil sprayer! Yep. I don’t really use it anymore because I don’t cook with extra virgin olive oil due to it’s becoming unstable and rancid at high temps. So I put in some witch hazel from the drugstore, then I added a lot of drops of tea tree oil, eucalyptus, and lavender. I then pumped it up and we sprayed ourselves before heading out. AND IT WORKED! No harsh chemicals and we had some bugs flying around us, especially my hot pink hair (I think they bugs thought I was a flower!), but nobody got bitten. I don’t really have a ratio for you guys, but I’m telling you, just use the oil sprayer and mix up your own bug repellent. There are lots of sites to help, and here’s a nice one. Down with DEET, up with Mother Nature!!

I also thought I’d update on my hair and body products. I’m still doing the Oil Cleansing Method. I haven’t broken out once since starting, and that’s something since it’s very muggy and hot here in New York now. I don’t even have to use moisturizer most of the time. I will dab a little on if I feel tight, but that’s not very often at all now. The whole family is using Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap for bathing/showering. We use the one made for babies, with no added scent. I kind of miss my smelly soaps occasionally, but it’s really not a big deal. So the hair…..well, see, I dyed my hair bright pink, and I need to use shampoo made for dyed hair. BUT….I am using a more natural one without the sulfates.

So that’s all the news from Primal Dawn Headquarters!! How’s your summer going??

2 thoughts on “I Should Just Write My Own Damn Cookbook! And An Update…

Leave a Reply

