Day One And Dawn’s All Gung Ho….Again

This is what I did for Day One of “Operation: Workout-For-More-Than-A-Week” on Monday. I was a little sore yesterday, and I’m ready for this one today. I’m feeling like hell these days, bloated, chunky, sluggish…..I’m gonna get rid of that crappy feeling by moving my bod!!!

I STILL have not figured out how to edit properly on my new tablet. It’s kinda frustrating, but I am learning new stuff every day and I’m sure that I’ll be blogging away on it soon. It’s kind of funny that I keep on trying to use my laptop screen as a touch screen. Yeah. Kinda embarrassing to sit there for a minute tapping the screen and getting annoyed that it’s not doing anything.

We are supposed to be having a crock pot goulash today, but I don’t feel like going to the store for one item (stew meat), so I’m gonna wing it. I’m thinking maybe I’ll cut up one of the london broils we have and use that as stew meat. It all comes out tender after the crock pot does its thing anyway. I think I have a compulsive grocery shopping problem. I go in for a few things and come out with 5 bags!! And I go all the time, probably at least 3-4 times a week. I used to be much more organized about this, so I’m gonna get back into the habit of shopping once a week again. My wallet is battered and bruised!!

Oh, guess what I went and did?? We picked up a violin really cheap on eBay!!! Of course, it’s not top quality or anything, but I don’t care. So far, I’m the only one playing it…er…attempting to play it. So now we have a drum set, electric guitar (kid size), acoustic guitar, harmonica, recorder, accordion, bongos, and now the violin. Which is great because I just found out yesterday that despite approving the school district’s budget, they cut all the music programs!! J was so excited because next year (3rd grade) was going to be his first year with an instrument. You know they kept sports, but my son doesn’t care about sports! He’s just not an athlete. He’s not into team sports. So we approved this stupid budget and now I get to fork over the extra taxes for that AND money for lessons. I’m adamant about the boys learning an instrument. Kids who play instruments get better grades generally. So terrible what is going on in the schools now. J is very intelligent, also, and they have no gifted programs here anymore either. What are you supposed to do if your kid isn’t a jock? We have some of the highest property taxes in the country here, and what do we have to show for it? You can bet your ass none of the bigwigs took pay cuts. So they shortchange our kids, underpay and undermine the teachers, don’t hold bad teachers accountable, and we get the privilege of funding that crap??

Can you tell I’m slightly peeved?

Wow, this post went in a completely different direction than where it started. Sometimes that’s the way it goes, I guess. I just think education is so important. We are doing these kids a huge disservice and we will reap what we sow later.

PD out!!!

Leave a Reply

