Why So Much Hate?

Mr. Dawn: “I’m going to Home Depot again. I’ll be right back.”

Me: “Again? Why do you need to go again?” (Mr. Dawn had just gotten back from getting materials for a homemade swingset for J and T-Lo!!)

Mr. Dawn: “I need to pick up some dandelion killer.”

Me: “Why?”

Mr. Dawn: “For the dandelions in the front yard.”

Me: “Why do we need to spray some poison all over the yard for a few little yellow flowers?”

Mr. Dawn: “Because they are ugly and I hate them.”

Me: “But me and the kids spend at least a few minutes every day in that yard. Do we really need to poison them?”

Mr. Dawn: “Well, I guess not…..”

So I ask, why the hate? Why so much hate you need to bring pesticides into our home?? Yikes. So we discussed a little. He saw my side and agreed to not spray stuff all over the yard.

It’s all about choices. Seemingly inconsequential things, like going to get weed killer. If we pause just for a moment and consider, we might choose differently. I’m glad we’re not using the pesticide. I will do a little research to see if I can’t come up with some sort of solution, even if it’s just me and the kids out there yanking them out of the yard.

In other news, school’s out in 11 days!!! For me, not the kids. Sucks to be them. I’m planning on playing every single day, even if it’s just for a few minutes. This is my plan. At least til the kids get out, then it’s a free for all….nah, I’ll play then too. Just with them!! Good stuff!!

Leave a Reply

