This Week’s Menus

Hi there! I’ve just finished deciding on what the menu’s for the week will be. Our house is super busy Monday through Thursday. We’ve got swim class Monday and Wednesday, and the boys have to eat after, as I don’t want them burping or feeling heavy for swimming. However, once we get home, it’s a steady rush to bedtime what with dinner, baths, nebulizer treatments (for T-Lo), and setting up lunches and backpacks for the next day. Wednesday nights I also see my therapist, so Mr. Dawn and I say hello-goodbye as soon as he walks in the door. Dinner on Wednesdays needs to be super quick or leftovers. Last Wednesday was some nitrate-free cold cuts, some cucumbers with balsamic dressing, and sliced apples. And guess what? They loved it! That brings me to our Tuesday/Thursday madness, where I need to be in precalculus 2 class at 6pm. The boys have to eat dinner around 4:30 so we can be at the sitter’s and I can get to class.

Is it any wonder I’m growing to LOVE Fridays?? I have a little time to myself with the boys in school, time with Mr. Dawn, and then when the boys DO get home, we get to hang out and not follow a schedule.

On to the planned eats this week!

Monday–Blueberry Spinach Salad with Shrimp Fritters…the salad is out of the free magazine at the health food store, and the fritters are out of The Gluten Free Almond Flour Cookbook.

Tuesday–Pork Stew in Tomatillo Sauce (slow cooker), and some sort of veggie (probably broccoli)…this recipe is out of The Gourmet Slow Cooker, the broccoli is my usual: steam in small amount of broth, with garlic, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and oil.

Wednesday–Simple pan-fried salmon and a salad. (This is that super busy night!!!)

Thursday–Italian Pot Roast and Brussels Sprouts With Browned Butter and Hazelnuts (both from The Primal Blueprint Cookbook)

Friday–Tuna patties with corn (for boys), scrounged-up veg for the grown ups. Fridays used to be pizza, but J has recently expressed displeasure at it, so since he’s all fired up about tuna patties now, we’ll do that for a while!!

The weekend is impromptu. I like to just play it by ear. You never know if you will be out and about running errands or maybe something fun like geocaching, so I like to leave it open. If I’m in the mood, we could get really gourmet and involved, or it could be simple like cold cuts or leftovers.

Leave a Reply

