I Lurve Mah Kitchen!!

My FatSecret challenge is going wonderfully. I’m getting back to basics, and it’s really noticeable in my mood and my body. I feel energetic and light. I have completely given up honey or any sugar for this challenge, and it’s really brought my carbs down to a good level. When you’re drinking 3 or 4 mugs of tea with a tablespoon of honey in each, it really adds up! I’ve been tracking my food every day, and although I’m not counting calories, I notice that my calorie ranges each day are in the 1700-2000 range, which is great for me. I’m more watching my ratios of macronutrients. I like to keep my fat percentage high, then protein, then carbs. I’m trying to keep my carbs less then 75 grams a day. Mr. Dawn hugged me today and he commented that I felt smaller. Score!!!

Here’s a sample day for me. I ate this on March 22nd:

-earl grey with heavy cream

-ground beef with cheddar crumbles and salsa

-white chai tea with cream

-bacon

-more earl grey

-butternut squash and cauliflower in a green curry sauce

-2 mozzarella string cheese sticks

I’ve been making one vegetarian meal a week too. Just something I thought I’d try out. Turns out, it’s a big hit! They like going meat-free for a day. AND it saves money!

The kitchen is my happy zone. I seem to be spending a lot of time in there, and I don’t mind at all. I love making new things for my family, and they enjoy the experiments too. There ARE fails (The Cookie Fail is one), but the good outweighs the bad 99% of the time. Just today, I baked up biscuits, I made tuna salad for T-Lo, I made a smoothie for J for breakfast, I made applesauce, I bottled my fresh batch of kombucha, and as I type we are baking our first custards. Chocolate flavor. I don’t get to eat these, as they have 1/4 cup of maple syrup in them. I might have a bite just to see how they came out. The kitchen is where I show my love to my family. I never cook angry. I do, however, clean angry 😉 Great way to work out your issues and blow off some steam.

P.S. Here’s my T.O.D. (Tip O’ the Day):

Parchment paper is way convenient for baking all our grain-free rolls and stuff, or cooking pizza crusts on. I made 3 batches of biscuits today. Parchment paper can get pricey though, so I re-use the sheets. What I mean is, I made 3 batches on cookie sheets, but I used the same paper for all of them. I’d bake one batch, let them cool a little, slide them off with a spatula, then place the next batch on the same paper. As long as the paper isn’t dark brown or black (burnt edges) it’s totally fine! If they are too burnt, then the paper crumbles. I know, I know….I’m totally a genius! Must be all the nourishing food I feed my brain and bod!!

 

Leave a Reply

