Primal Cabbage Roll Casserole

I was craving golabki, which are cabbage rolls. They are traditionally a ground meat mixture with rice and spices rolled up into cabbage leaves and simmered in a tomato sauce. Mr. Dawn is a lovely Polish-Russian mix, so me cooking any sort of Polish food is alrighty with him.

The problem was the pain-in-the-ass step of peeling individual cabbage leaves and briefly boiling them so they become pliable enough to roll around the meat. It’s so tedious and a waste of dishes in my book. The rice was also a no-go (wow….could I use any more hyphens?). So I came up with this yummy casserole. You just chop-chop-chop and you’re good to go!!

Primal Cabbage Roll Casserole

Ingredients:

1-2 TB coconut oil

2 lbs ground beef

3 cups roughly chopped cabbage

1 cup chopped onion

1 28oz. can tomatoes (I used whole, but you could use crushed)

2-3 teaspoons prepared mustard

2-3 TB honey

salt and pepper

Heat oven to 350F. Heat oil in a pan and saute onions til softened up, just a few minutes. Add ground beef and brown with onions. Use a little oil in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish. Layer cabbage at bottom of dish. Pour beef mixture over. For the tomatoes: I used whole, and I take my kitchen scissors and just cut them up while they are in the can. Mix tomatoes, mustard, honey, and salt and pepper (if you like, I didn’t use pepper). Pour tomato mixture over beef mixture in dish. Cover with foil and bake 1 hour. Uncover and bake another 10 minutes or so.

This came out so good!!! I was worried about it being to soupy without the rice. I basically adapted this from an old recipe I already have. I didn’t change the liquids involved and I didn’t think of it until it had been in the oven for a while. But it worked out. The mustard may seem a little weird, and it is, but it really does add a nice tang to the tomato sauce. It makes it not taste like marinara or plain tomato sauce. Mr. Dawn ate 3 bowls! The boys liked it too. It’s pretty cheap to make too, the beef being probably the most expensive. Cabbage is super cheap! And who doesn’t have a can of tomatoes and mustard sitting around?

I’m working on ridding myself of a nasty cough that has been nagging me for over a week now. I finally gave in (up?) and went to the doctor this morning. I got some hard-core cough syrup and a script for an antibiotic. The nice thing was the doc told me not to fill the antibiotic and wait for a few days to see if it clears up. A doctor not pushing unnecessary meds? Awesome!! As a result, I haven’t been able to do more than a little yoga lately. I’m eager to get back in action! But I must be gentle on this bod and give it some TLC so it can heal and rise up stronger than evah!!! Can I get an amen??

How do you approach illness and exercise? I’ve heard that if it’s above the neck, like a head cold, then it’s good to work out if you can, but if it’s below the neck that you should not exercise. I don’t know about all that. I go by my gut. If I feel like absolute ass I will skip it, but if it’s minor or not too bothersome, I’ll go for it. Sometimes working out while sick can make you feel better. It’s true! Maybe it revs up your system or something. I’m sure there’s some scientific study I could pick apart out there, but really, there are so many others who do that way better than I could. So go find them. Then get back to me 🙂

3 thoughts on “Primal Cabbage Roll Casserole

Leave a Reply

