Dressing of the Gods

Okay, maybe “Dressing of the Gods” is a little silly, maybe even exaggerating. Maybe. But not much! It’s the yummy Tahini Lemon Dressing out of Raw Food Made Easy for 1 or 2 People by Jennifer Cornbleet. Yes, yes, it’s a raw food book. Get over it. I ate high raw (80-90%) for a bit last year. I’ve since moved on, but I still love incorporating some of the raw recipes because they are so delicious and healthy! There’s no reason to be primal/paleo and avoid raw food. A salad is raw, right? Just think of “raw food” as salad, version 2.0.

So here’s the recipe.

Tahini Lemon Dressing:

1/3 cup tahini (recipe says raw, but I used regular)

1/3 cup water (I use hot to ‘melt’ the tahini)

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon crushed garlic (1 clove)

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon salt

Dash of cayenne

1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley (I’ve made this both with and without the parsley)

-Basically, just blend everything but the parsley in your processor or blender. Then add the parsley and pulse briefly. Tip: I don’t even bother with appliances. I just use an old glass jar and shake it up. Easy peasy, lemon squeezey!

This is soooo good on a pile of baby spinach leaves. I mean sooooo good. Really. I have made it with more lemon, more or less garlic, more or less cumin, and it’s great any which way. It’s great over a simple cucumber and tomato salad. Maybe toss some onion on that. Mmmmm.

Onto today’s eats:

-2 mugs earl grey a la PD

-1 mug white chai a la PD

-Jalapeno bacon poppers

-Baby spinach with “Dressing of the Gods” 🙂

-Dinner tonight is a spiral ham without the glaze, roasted asparagus, and possibly a salad or maybe some sauteed zucchini

I’m seeing my allergist and the rheumatologist next week. I’m looking forward, albeit nervously, to these visits. My hands continue to hurt almost every day. The right hand hurts more, but it’s both. The allergist visit is to go over my bloodwork, and I haven’t yet seen the rheumatologist so it’s the initial getting-to-know-you visit.

I’m concerned about inflammation, and I’m reading that nuts have a high amount of omega 6 in them. This could be a problem, since I eat almond flour at least twice a week. Having your omega 3 and 6 ratios off causes problems, mainly inflammation. I will be researching more. I have never claimed to know it all, nor will I ever. I am a work in progress, and being chronically ill makes for an eager student!

 

Leave a Reply

