Food, and Norman.

I made a delicious brunch this morning/afternoon. I had some frozen turnips and butternut squash left from our CSA last summer. They’ve been mocking me every time I open the freezer. I had no idea what to do with them. I make a killer squash soup (remember my friend said I could sell it?), but I just felt like making something new. Enter “The Hash”. I used to make a dish of fried potatoes with onions and garlic, fried up til nice and crispy, throw a few eggs in at the end, slap some cheese on and you’re good to go. I can’t have potatoes anymore, so inspiration struck. Make something like that!!

Turnip and Squash Hash—

1 1/2 cups turnips (if you use fresh, cube and lightly steam first)

2 1/2 cups butternut squash (again, if fresh, cube and steam)

2 small onions, chopped

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 1/2 tsp rubbed sage leaves (I used dried, but use the leaves not the powder)

cayenne pepper to taste

salt

fat of choice

-Fry onions in fat til softened (I used bacon fat), a few minutes. Throw in the turnips and squash. Put spices in. (Tip: rub the sage leaves between your palms to break it up and release the oils, it helps the flavor.) Now here’s the hard part: let it fry! Don’t keep poking at it. Let it do it’s thang. It should be flipped around only occasionally. Mine took around 15-20 minutes to brown up nicely. I like it extra crispy.

I served this with bacon, and I added some crumbled goat cheese to mine. Mr. Dawn didn’t add the cheese. I didn’t get pics of it with the cheese because I inhaled it too quickly. Sorry! But here’s a not-so-great pic of it in the pan: (it was a lot browner than this when it was done!)

I have been doing my yoga, doing my body weight interval workouts, reading more about buddhism, and in general trying to better myself and my family. I sat down yesterday and wrote down some goals for the year. A lot of them were physical challenges, but some were just improving my well-being. I want to play more. This has been lost a little again, and I need to refocus myself to bring it back!! I’ve also read so many blogs about vision boards, that I drank the kool-aid. I think I’m going to make one. It certainly couldn’t hurt anything to have a daily visual reminder of what I’m about and what I want to achieve.

Okay, now for the fun….allow me to introduce Norman:

Norman is hungry. Does Norman want a banana??

No…Norman does not want a banana! Oh look!! Yummy salad! Would Norman like some salad??

Nooo!! Hey, Norman! How ’bout a cold one??

No??? So what do you want, Norman?

Bad Norman!! No, you most certainly may NOT eat my baby’s brain!!!

2 thoughts on “Food, and Norman.

  1. Just found your website this morning…reading, reading, reading… congrats on how far you are in your journey. My kiddos now have their own munchkins, but my brain is stuck somewhere between age 12 and age 30…. my body, well, not sure where that is, but aiming to take it to better levels one day at a time.
    thanks for your blogs, your photos, your recipes…all so very real so that I can relate. AND I absolutely LOVE Norman!! Made my day…hope he stick around for awhile. I am sure your litte people love him.. 🙂

    1. Hi Donna! Thanks for reading and I’m glad you are enjoying my silliness! You know, I didn’t think Norman would make another appearance, but……. 😉 I do one day at a time because that’s all I can do. I fall off the wagon more than I’d like to admit, but I always say I’m a work in progress, you know?

Leave a Reply

