A Real Recipe??

Okay, here’s the deal. I have recipe envy. I see all these awesome primal blogs with these amazing recipes and I want to join in. The problem? I am a very intuitive, let’s-see-what’s-in-the-fridge type of cook. I am also a good cook. Evidence: last night’s ground pork challenge.

Mr. Dawn brought home two 2lb. packs of ground pork. I had no idea what to do with them. Then I thought, what about something a little Thai-influenced? Then I thought coconut milk, lemongrass, ginger, and I was off and running.

Thai Pork Slop

(I say “slop” because it was kinda grody looking…and of course there are no pics)— all measurements are approximate…cuz I didn’t stop to measure everything and write it down. Bear with me, I’ll get there!

-2 pounds ground pork

-2 small onions, chopped

-1 can coconut milk

– 1/2 tsp ground ginger (you could use fresh of course, but I was lazy)

-1/4 tsp Chinese 5 spice powder

-1/4 tsp curry powder

-1/2 tsp garlic powder (again, fresh can be used)

-salt to taste

-cayenne to taste

-2 2-inch lengths of lemongrass, sliced in half lengthwise and bruised a little (just whack a little with a meat pounder)

-1 TB green curry paste

-1/2 to 1 TB soy sauce (gluten free, very important if you have sensitivities)

-1 cup sliced sweet peppers (we had little mini ones, red, orange, and yellow)

-3 cups baby spinach

 

Saute the pork, I used coconut oil to get it started. Break it all up nicely, then add onions. When the pork is nicely browned and the onion is starting to soften up, add the spices (garlic, 5 spice, ginger, curry powder, cayenne to taste). Once it’s all incorporated nicely and smells good, add the coconut milk, lemongrass, curry paste, and soy sauce. Let this simmer until it’s a little thickened, then add the sliced sweet peppers. Let cook for about 3 minutes, then start adding the baby spinach by handfuls until it’s incorporated. It will take a minute for each handful to wilt into the mixture. Then you can taste and salt as desired. I always salt last. And make sure you remove the lemongrass pieces before eating. Or just warn your family, like I did.

Mr. Dawn and I ate the whole pan. Not even kidding. So yeah, I shoveled a pound of ground pork down my gob. And I’m not embarrassed in the slightest. It was delicious. I was going to make cauliflower rice to go under the slop, but honestly it didn’t need it. It was thick and creamy and not too spicy. I will definitely be making this again.

So I can say I conquered the ground pork challenge!!! Seriously, go do a search on your favorite recipe site and then come back and tell me how many ground pork recipes you find. I say less than 3. Go ahead. I dare you!

Let me know if you try it, or if there are any errors, like I forgot to put an ingredient that’s listed into the instructions, or vice-versa.

 

 

 

One thought on “A Real Recipe??

  1. Haven’t tried it yet, but I might have to. Just reading the ingredients list made my mouth start to water. I love thai food, and lemongrass is by far one of my favorite thai flavors. Along with the coconut milk it sounds phenomenal. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

