Now I’ve Gone and Done It

I ordered this. I may have said that this is the year of the yogi. Wait, did I say that? I don’t think I did. But I certainly implied it. Anyway, I’m gonna get my hoop on too! I’m excited. I kinda let my hooping fall by the wayside in the last 6 months, but I’m itching to get it back! I think this is going to be great, gentle exercise for me. Maybe I’ll post some videos of my hooping….you never know….it could happen.

Juice this morning was delicious. The same juice from the other day. Beet, kale, cuke, celery, carrot, apple, and pinch of lemon. I’ve been coffee-free for about 2 1/2 weeks. I never thought it would happen, and I thought it would be very tough. It was super easy for me. I know others have a really hard time, but not me. Neener neener neener.

OCM is going well. I really like the soothing aspect of it. I do it last in the shower. I have an oversized washcloth/hand towel that I use and it covers my neck and top of my chest too (decolletage??). I get the hottest water I can stand and just lay it over my face and breathe and zone out for a minute or two. Repeat a few times, then lightly swipe the towel over my face and I’m done. My skin is soft, I can feel the clogged areas near my chin getting looser and soft. Does that make sense? They felt almost thick or hard I think due to clogs in the pores. Some days I use my super precious face oil as a moisturizer after, but usually I don’t need it.

Another routine I’ve added at shower time is dry brushing with a loofah. Now, I don’t know about all those claims about cellulite and such, but the idea of stimulating the skin and circulating the lymph certainly make sense. I am very ticklish and sensitive, so this is sorta comical. I’m like attacking myself with a loofah! I think the most important thing to know is that you always brush towards your heart. So below the heart you want to brush upwards, and above the heart you want to brush downwards. Apparently, you can damage the valves in the veins by brushing too hard in the wrong direction (away from the heart).

Since my aim is to focus on lifestyle habits and nutrition/diet, I guess I should talk about my food lately. I haven’t been writing much about it, because honestly it’s been a little tedious. I’m having flare-ups in my gut probably 3 times a week, and finding the triggers is a major PITA. I do know that regular sugar, wheat, and potatoes are not good for me anymore. I’m curious about sweet potatoes. I’m curious about a lot of things. I’m very tentative though, because I spend a lot of time in the bathroom when I’m wrong. I’ve been trying a lot of paleo and primal recipes for dinners. We had a soup last night that was subpar. It was from a paleo site that shall not be named. I’m also having a hard time with lunches for the kids. I don’t buy their pizza or chicken nuggets anymore. I do keep some whole grain bread (no corn syrup) around for them to have PB and J now and then. They don’t eat much bread. A loaf usually goes moldy before they finish it. I’m still on the lookout for a good bread for us all. The Scrumptious Sandwich Bread from The Gluten-Free Almond Flour cookbook was pretty good, but it’s very small and….I don’t know. I think we need to keep trying things and getting used to things. I thought the flavor of the bread overpowered the mayo and cheddar cheese I used for a sandwich.

So basically, I’m in transition with the diet in our house. I hate using the word “diet”, but it truly is a diet, not diet as we’ve come to associate with weight-loss. Diet means “the food you eat”. Not “super restrictive way of eating to try and lose weight which will ultimately fail because you’re starving yourself”. I’m finding that getting the whole family on board takes work. I can’t just pop a frozen pizza in the toaster oven. I have to prepare ahead and make time for cooking. It’s a work in progress.

All you primal/paleo mamas out there: How do you feed your kids? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

2 thoughts on “Now I’ve Gone and Done It

  1. Yoga! DO IT! :-p

    Sure I may be biased, but it is helping me so much physically and mentally now! Starting out is humbling, but it’s really awesome to watch the progress.

Leave a Reply

