New Day, New Goals

Today I am hustling. I got up late and made nitrate-free bacon and eggs for the family, then I put a pork butt in the crockpot for dinner. Yum. I’ve cleaned up the kitchen and am potty training T-LO (The Little One). More on that later.

Oh, I just picked up The Gluten Free Almond Flour Cookbook. I had a gift card from J’s dad and I got it from Barnes & Noble. I tried the Herb Crackers yesterday. Mr. Dawn love love loves my hummus, and he used to eat it with pretzels, but I thought I’d try this as a sub. Well, they are “okay”. No one raved, but I think a few tweaks and I’ll have it. I need to roll them thinner, which is so hard to do. I also think it needed more salt. I thought it looked meager when I added it, and I was going to put more in, but I thought I should try the recipe straight up before I mess with it. So I will try again. As I write, the Scrumptious Sandwich Bread is baking. We are on the lookout for sandwich bread and this may work. It’s more of a batter, with just 1/4 cup of almond flour in it, but my hopes are high.

So…potty training. T-LO is going to be 4 this month and he’s not trained yet. We keep waiting for him to show some interest, but so far nothin’. Now I’m trying to take the bull by the horns and get him going. We put Elmo underwear on him, then set the kitchen timer for 30 minutes. When the timer rings, we go potty. If he goes, he gets a special sticker that goes on a Sesame Street potty training poster that we put on his bedroom door. He’s earned 3 stickers so far. He’s also still on his first pair of undies. We always expected he’d be late with training, but I’m getting a little nervous, which I know is not good. You cannot force this. I have visions of T-LO being denied entry into kindergarten because he’s still in pull-ups. It’s that motherly worrying.

New Year’s celebration at the PD Headquarters were very chill. T-LO made it to around 9:30, then he asked if he could go lay in his bed. We said sure, and in seconds, he was out. J made it all the way though. This was the first year he’s done that. It was cute. I got kisses from 2 of my boys at midnight! The only thing that would have made it better would have been a little T-LO smooch on top of all that lovin’. Once the ball dropped, we were like, “Okay, bedtime.” I think all of us were in bed with all the lights out at 12:15. Yeah, I know, wild and crazy times. I really really enjoyed seeing NKOTB and Backstreet Boys do their pathetic synchronized dance moves and sing songs from when they were tweens on Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve. Hysterical. One of them is actually bald now. Ha.

The pork butt recipe was super easy. I used a recipe from Food.com and modified it a little.

Ingredients:

-Giant ass pork butt. (Hey I used “ass” and “butt” in the same phrase!)

-2 large onions

-Seasonings of your choice (I used some garlic powder and MSG-free cajun seasoning)

-1/4 cup gluten free soy sauce

-1/2 cup H2o

So here’s what you do:

Rinse and pat dry your pork butt. Rub some of the seasoning on your butt. Then get a skillet screaming hot with some butter or oil or bacon fat. I happened to have bacon fat from breakfast right there. Brown your butt on both sides. Some people get all crazy and have to hit all the sides. I don’t do that. Slice your onions and place half of them in the bottom of the crockpot. Put your butt in the crockpot, layer the rest of the onions over, then pour the soy sauce and water over. Cook til done. My butt’s really big (*smirk*), so I figure it will take maybe 6 hours on high.

We shall see how this comes out. It seems very plain, but some of the best recipes are the simplest.

Oh, I have some blog changes to announce. I have a new blog-dedicated email now, primalcavegrrl@gmail.com. So now I guess it’s official, right?? Also, I’ve added a page titled “The Science”, where I plan on sticking the studies, scientific articles, and discussions/perspectives I find on this whole primal deal. I do read them and I find them interesting, but I choose to keep my posts informal. I guess I have a hard time translating my thoughts on the science into words. I do try to explain things to Mr. Dawn sometimes, but then I realize how woefully vague I sound. So I choose not to “go there” for now. This may change later, but for now, this works for me. Let me know what you think and what you’d like to see. As of now, there is one link there. Ha. Go me!!

2 thoughts on “New Day, New Goals

  1. I have found when rolling any type of almond meal cracker it is easier to get them nice and thin if you put a piece of parchment paper over the ‘dough’.

Leave a Reply

