Baking

I’m baking some bread that AndreAnna over at Life As A Plate swears is the best thing since…..well, sliced bread. Ha. It’s made with coconut flour, butter, eggs and some other stuff. I doubled it so I needed 14 eggs!!! Holy moley! It smells pretty good in here right now.

I’m savoring a day of not much to do. On the to do list? I have to clean the bathroom (yay), clean out the fridge (gross), and yoga. Yep. I only have one more test to study for, biology, and that shouldn’t be too tough. I am happy to report that I will be passing precalculus 1. Yay me!!! On to precalculus 2. Not-so-yay.

I’d like to go over what kind of diet modifications I’ve made so far. I’m off the coffee now since I got back from the hospital. That’s about 13 days, I think. It was funny, I had to put the box of earl grey right in front of the coffee pot so I would remember no coffee, more tea. I’m having earl grey with honey and half and half in the morning, then organic green chai, green tea, or herbal tea the rest of the day. I’ve given up most sugars other than honey. Potatoes and I are no longer buddies. Sad, but true. I am eating very similar to primal still. I avoid all refined carbohydrates, wheat, grains. For now, I’m staying away from salads and raw fibrous veggies and fruits. I usually will make smoothies or juice raw produce, and I don’t know how long I’ll stay like this. I’m a little nervous to add the insoluble fiber back too quickly. I’m adding plenty of probiotics with my homemade yogurt and kombucha. I usually have my nightly snack of homemade yogurt with thawed frozen cherries or blueberries, honey, walnuts or pecans, and cinnamon. Soooo tasty. I’m eating lots of protein in the form of beef and chicken, with fish once or twice a week. I’m on my last day of antibiotics, and I am tentatively researching a liquid multivitamin that I can have. I’m reading that I should avoid seaweed and algae with any inflammatory bowel disease, but I’m still learning so I don’t know if that’s truly the case.

Oh (I know this post is all over the place, but bear with me)!! I had J’s parent teacher conference this week. His teacher had nothing but lovely things to say about him. He’s reading well above grade level. She said his strongest area is math. The school has a math team called the Math Olympiads that he can join next year, by invitation only, and she said she’d be very shocked if he weren’t on it. She’s even going to her 3rd grade teacher friends and getting extra math work for him. He’ll have a special folder that he can work out of when he finishes his classwork. I’m so proud!! She also said he’s very good at relating or connecting life experiences to concepts in class, and that he frequently speaks up in class about how something he saw or read at home is like what they are studying. You can get a C for capable, or an S for Strong, and he had probably 85% S’s on his report card! He even got all S’s in art. His art teacher said he was “a joy to have in class” and that he quickly grasps all concepts. I asked his teacher about any gifted or advanced programs and she said that they had them before, but now with the economy and budget cuts, they were one of the first things to go. Sad. I’m fairly confident that I can challenge him here at home a little, so that’s what I’ll do. Okay, gushing mom moment over!!

I have a question for you dear readers: How do I go about getting more traffic on my site? I see I’m not gaining any readers and I don’t know if it’s lack of interest or just ignorance on my part. If you are experienced in this area, email or leave a comment for me! Help a cavegrrl out!

 

2 thoughts on “Baking

  1. I LOVE Earl Grey! It’s been a favorite of mine since I was young. Let me know how that bread turns out. QB may be interested. He’s a coconut fiend!

Leave a Reply

