Help, I’ve Been Taken Hostage By Crohn’s!!

So this diagnosis has pretty much taken over my life at this moment in time. I hope it’s temporary, because I’d hate that. I have been searching online for information and blogs and things. First of all, there’s not a lot out there. Second, lots of people seem to become their diagnosis. Everything is filtered through the lens of disease. I am choosing not to do that. I think about the fact that I do NOT want this to become a Crohn’s blog. I want it to be about me. I mean, the focus in general is on health and fitness and diet, but that’s simply because even in real life, you meet me, I’m going to talk to you about health. It’s my hobby/obsession. So it would follow that it would come up quite a bit in a me-centric blog.

That being said, it’s fairly new and a shock to my system, so I hope you’ll all bear with me if I do talk about it a bit. I have started a food and bathroom diary. I write down what I eat and what time, as well as when I go to the bathroom. This way, even if I don’t see a connection between symptoms and a certain food, I can look back over time and see, “Oh yeah, every time I ate this, a few hours later I was hurtin’.” So far everything seems very random. No rhyme or reason. I did have a lot of nausea yesterday and cramping, so I’m back to my liquid/soft diet for now. I will have green smoothies, juice, and brothy/creamy soups just to give my digestion a little break.

I haven’t even begun to think about exercise. Mr. Dawn read that my condition can be brought on or exacerbated by stress. And we all know I’ve been stressed out lately. So….I was thinking of starting that yoga practice that I’ve been giving lip service to. My friend Sie over at immortalplan.com and I make quite a duo. She’s recently suffered some health setbacks and has been hospitalized as well. She was discussing the role stress plays. Maybe her and I could do some sort of yoga challenge. You know, cuz I’m a competitive girl and all….watch out, Sie, I could be calling you out soon!!! It’ll be Yoga Smackdown 2011!! By the way, you should all check out her blog. Yummy vegan recipes and she’s good on the whole scientific aspects of why we do what we do. So go visit and wish her well. Get better Sie!!!

Today’s plan is to get back on track with my schoolwork and relaaaaaaax. Those seem mutually exclusive to me, but I’m gonna do my best!!

2 thoughts on “Help, I’ve Been Taken Hostage By Crohn’s!!

  1. You sound like you are in good spirits! I’m sure this is a big learning experience that will increase your health knowledge & passion even more! Have a great day.

  2. I’ve been thinking of yoga for a while. :-p It’s hard to work it into my rotating shift schedule for work, but I think I need try a bit harder. Hum…

    My currently plan definitely needs improvement in the stress reduction category…..back to the drawing board! I’ll be back to posting very soon, and hopefully I’ll have some good ideas for stress relief!

    p.s. My husband has Ulcerative Colitis (possibly Chrons), so I really feel for you with your recent diagnosis. Good luck on finding a solution to manage it.

Leave a Reply

