7 Deadly Sins….yada yada yada

The. Week. From. Hell.

It all started when the costume party I was going to for Halloween got canceled. Boo. I already bought a costume and everything! Then I missed a dinner out with my girls because  I started having horrible tooth pain. Went to the dentist. I need oral surgery to pull the tooth. So I get me some antibiotics and pain meds. Seriously, I looked like a squirrel, my face was so swollen. So then when I called the surgeon, they couldn’t get me in until the end of November. I was freaking about a possible infection. It’s an upper tooth, and that is really close to one of my favorite things: my brain. I’ve heard bad things about tooth infections that went too far. Those kind of thoughts drove me to the ER. Again. I’m the queen of the emergency room. In all seriousness, though, I have a terrible history of hospitalizations for infection, so I really wanted to get this taken care of. They sent me home with a referral to a different surgeon. On the way home, my windshield got a huge crack in it from a rock that flew up while I was driving on the expressway. Then I woke up this morning, went to throw out the old coffee grounds from yesterday, and somehow tossed them on the floor just in front of the garbage can!!! Yep. That was my week people. A pile of cold, wet, ground-up crap on a dirty floor. Perfect.

However, being the optimist I am, I keep looking for the good. And you know what? Friday it came in the form of J. I had bribed him with a toy in exchange for a good smile for his school pics. Last year’s were….uh….can you say “deer in the headlights”? He hates pictures and gets very anxious and freezes up. Anyway, we got his pictures Friday, so I took him to Toys R Us for his toy. We got into the car, cranked our favorite metal (System of a Down), sang along like rockstars, and chit-chatted away about the most interesting things in my 2nd-grader’s life: his little girl friend, H, and Spiderman. Oh, and birthdays and Christmas. Then when we got in the store, we were checking out all of the board games and goofing around. It was so nice and made me forget my issues for a while. I even told him that I had been having some bad luck lately, and that just hanging out with him made me feel a lot better. You should have seen the smile. Beaming.

Then today I got to go on a field trip for school. This was a self-guided thing for my online geography class. I dragged Mr. Dawn with me. Yep, just me and Mr. Dawn set loose on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon in NYC. We decided to drive in to avoid some construction delays on the trains this weekend. I took a bazillion pictures. My assignment was to take a certain tour of the Tenement Museum. We got in a little early, so we ate at a little diner on the way to the museum. The tour ended up being so much more interesting than I thought it would be. It was all about a neighborhood in NYC that was really the heart of immigration to America. We saw the tenements they lived in, with original walls and stairs and furniture. So cool!!! They even told the stories of two different families, what happened to them and such. Really really interesting. Then we drove back, picked up The Little One from J’s dad’s house, and headed home. It’s nice coming home after gallivanting all over the place. It always feels so cozy.

I do have the next day in the 7 Deadly Sins series ready. But I think I’m going to do a separate post for that. Tomorrow, my lovelies.

I think what I’d like you to take away from this post is that bad days happen to good people, but you don’t have to let them ruin you. I do have to confess to being in borderline freak-out mode  more than a few times. It’s easy to take a “why me” attitude. No pity-parties allowed!!! Did I handle every moment with perfection? Of course not. I do recall uttering the f-word more than a few times. And with 3 months of sobriety under my belt, a drink was looking pretty damn good in the midst of all that crap. But I didn’t do it. I think I may have been yelling at everyone a little more than usual, but hey, I’m the mom, it’s what I do sometimes:) But we all survived. That’s how we roll!

2 thoughts on “7 Deadly Sins….yada yada yada

  1. Sister – I’m sooo excited for this post. First – I wanted to see how you were doing w the no drinking and congrats! I have 16 days under my belt, and I’m uber proud! Whoop whooop. 2ndly, I totally know how cozy & warm it feels to come home after a day out! You are a great mama & huma & woman! Thanks for setting a super example for us all.

Leave a Reply

