I Caved

Hehe…get it? Caved? Primal? Grokettes?

I got the Primal Blueprint Cookbook. And so far, it rocks. Tonight we tried the Primal Pot Roast and the Roasted Cauliflower with Lemon Mustard Dressing. I made the roast in my slow-cooker, and I didn’t brown it before putting it in. Didn’t matter. 7 hours later, we had moist and tender beef with all this yummy, onion-y juice. However, the supah-star of the dinner was the cauliflower. I know, right??? Seriously, the whole family chowed down. Mr. Dawn ate his and proclaimed, “I don’t usually like cauliflower, but this is pretty good.” For him, that’s a rave review. And the Little One? He just ate the cauliflower. J even ate all of his before he ate the meat. You roast the cauliflower, then put some toasted nuts (recipe says one of three nuts, I had none of them, so I subbed almonds), and then the sauce. Delish. Tomorrow, it’s some sort of chicken-coconut-Thai sorta soup from the book. Stay tuned, my Groks and Grokettes!

I have to say, I’ve been a little distant, my lovelies, and there is a reason. I have suddenly had stuff thrown at me and the stress level is HIGH. As in, mini-meltdown-on-the-phone-to-therapist. One of the issues involves J. He seems to have suddenly inherited my lovely anxiety issues. He had a full-on panic attack at school the other day. Yeah. Broke my heart. Then, I discovered that S had her mother suddenly abandon her. Yep. Walked away. Sent a text that she wasn’t coming back. Nice, huh? So S obviously needs a strong womanly influence in her life, and since I played that part in her life years ago, I’m more than happy to step in again. She’s 15 and a great kid. She didn’t deserve that at all. So, I’ve been gently reaching out to her. So my plate is somewhat full, with school and family (by blood and by love). I’ve got as much of a handle as I can have on it, but it hasn’t been easy at all. I’ve been having increased anxiety and panicky feelings that are very hard to deal with. I keep saying I’m gonna do yoga to chill my ass out, but where’s the time? I know, I know, there’s always time if you want to find it. I’m just not there yet.

But in the spirit of positivity, I’d like to share some stuff I’m loving right now:

-Sheldon Cooper (Big Bang Theory)….Bazinga!

-Vanilla Coconut body wash from Bath and Body Works

-Cheese

-Firefly. I only have 4 episodes left to watch, and I’m in denial.

-New friends. Yes, I’ve been reaching out to people, in real life!!!

-Halloween decorating. I ❤ Halloween the bestest of all the holidays! We got new hanging spider lights this year:)

-My slow-cooker. Seriously, saves my ass a few times a week.

-Lip Gloss. I don’t care. I do MAC or Rimmel. It’s all good. I just want my lips to look super-schmexy.

What things are you digging at this moment? Are they stress-relievers, time-savers, or simply indulgences?? I’d love to know. Gimme some ideas!

2 thoughts on “I Caved

  1. I love this post. The more love you give, the more love you get. On another note, way before this post, I thought about what your great gift in life is – and I think it’s working w women, in some capacity. I think you have that warrior strong amazing woman quality about you – many women need to look up to. Just my thoughts.
    At the moment I’m loving cauliflower (as well) and seaweed salad. Strange but true.

  2. You are so sweet, Ag! Your compliment got me thinking. I think that I would like to inspire my female students (once I have them, of course!) to follow their passion and not be afraid to show off their big brains! Mmmm…..seaweed salad:)

Leave a Reply

