Dagnabbit!

Yes, dagnabbit. A word I uttered a few times yesterday. Then I felt OLD. Who the heck says “dagnabbit”?? Jackson thought it was a bad word and wondered what it meant, but wouldn’t say the word to ask. It was funny. I told him it was okay to say. Like “poppycock”. Funny old-timey word.

Yesterday’s geocaching was a no-go. Both boys have little fevers. No other symptoms. I hope it goes away soon, because it’s holding us back, dammit!

In primal news: You know you’ve been eating a lot of meat when your bacon-and-burger loving honey says, “I’m feeling ‘meated’ out lately. Do you think we could just have salad tonight?” I’ll do ya one better, Mr. Dawn. How about a lovely eggplant-zucchini parmigiana?? Huh? Huh? I sliced the eggplant into rounds and the zuccini lengthwise into long slices. Then I “breaded” them in an egg dip and then a blend of coconut and almond flour with some secret herbs and spices and a little parmesan thrown in. Fry fry fry, drain drain drain, layer layer layer with some homemade tomato sauce and mozzarella. Bake up at 350F til brown and bubbly, or until the smell drives you insane and you can’t wait any longer! Then, to keep with the theme, I actually served sliced heirloom tomatoes on the side. What can I say, we’ve got a bunch from the CSA and I need to use them up! It was a tomato-fest! Even J, who was like, “I hate eggplant!!”, tried it and liked it. He told me, “Mom, this is the only way I like eggplant. Remember that.” Okey-dokey, son. Will do.

In hula hooping news: I am starting to narrow down the candidates for “Primal Dawn’s Inaugural Hula Hoop Stunt”, aka My First Hoop Trick. I am looking at transferring the hoop behind my back, or trying the comical looking (and sounding) Booty Bump. The Booty Bump looks a little harder, but it makes me smile watching people do it! The behind-the-back transfer is in the lead, though. It looks doable to me. But I could be wrong. What do I know about hoop tricks??

In academia (that’s school) news: My professor for Culture and Environment finally opened the discussion that I needed to comment on. We had to watch a video on Ho Chi Minh City and then comment. Well, I was an eager-beaver and did this like 2 weeks ago. All I can say is, good thing I took notes! So I had all my little impressions and observations written so I wouldn’t forget them. Now I’m stalking the precalculus 1 site, which is still not open. It says it starts on September 1st. I really really hope it gets opened beforehand, because there’s always a little lag while you try to get your feet wet, learning the format for discussion and homework submission. I like to be prepared. Like a Boy Scout. Or FEMA.

Here’s to a day of rest and relaxation. It’s Sunday, after all. Take it easy. I know I will. But keep it healthy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

