Indestructible

This explains a lot today:

Indestructible. I’m feelin’ on top of my game today. Woe to anyone who tries to get in my way. “In my way” can take many forms. You know, those thunder-stealers, Debbie Downers, Negative Nellies. I simply have no time for it today. I’ve even got my war-paint and armor on…well, pink and green eyeshadow and a pin-up style cherry print dress that makes me feel all “ooh la la”. And lip gloss. No she-warrior is complete without it. Trust me. Take a minute to take care of yourself and you’ll feel better the rest of the day. And I’m not even going anywhere special today!

Call it swagger, if you will. Some days you feel it, others- not so much. But I try really hard to subscribe to the “fake it til you make it” attitude. It’s not always easy. As some of you know, I am a bipolar bear (heehee) and it can make it that much harder to get my swagger on. But when I’m feeling “off”, I try to get out of my head. Easier said than done. What I mean is, I am aware of my mental illness, and I try to step outside of myself and look objectively at what I’m feeling. Does it work all the time? Most definitely not. But it’s a coping strategy that can help. Sometimes I fail miserably. But sometimes….I can pick myself up and put my armor on. And I fake it. And I make it. Being the bio nerd that I am, I try to remember that this is not “real”, it is a function of the chemicals, or lack of chemicals, in my brain. Totally less scary than curled-up-in-the-fetal-position-chanting “I’m crazy…I’m crazy….I’m crazy…”

And this always helps me too:

What is your armor? How do you deal with the “blues” or mental illness? What makes you feel “Indestructible”?

3 thoughts on “Indestructible

Leave a Reply

