If Mama Ain’t Happy, Ain’t Nobody Happy

And Mama ain’t happy. Yep, I’m on a tear, so to speak. I full on yelled at Mr. Dawn this morning. He said something to me for like the gazillionth time and I just snapped. Then he asked me a question and I didn’t really care for the tone, and I yelled some more. Then I go to J’s closet to start to take inventory and see what we need to buy for the school year, and the shelves I just frickin’ organized the other day are wrecked. AND….I tripped over and stepped on no less than 4 toys on my way to the closet. Mr. Dawn sought shelter in the office room with the door closed. When I checked on him he told me he didn’t want to be around me right now. If there’s one thing you need to know about me, it’s that I can go from 0-bitch in a nanosecond, and I calm down and forget about it just as quickly. I’m an Aries. Fire sign. Play with fire and you get burned. And I’m notoriously stubborn. So when he said he didn’t want to be around me, I very flippantly replied, “Fine. I don’t want to be around you, either!” Then I wandered into the living room, mumbling to myself, “I gotta get outta here….”

I didn’t get outta here. I cooled down and let Mr. Dawn do the same. Although we are both being very cautious in our phrasing of things to each other. We are walking a fine line today, people. A powder keg that could blow at any moment! I did manage to calm myself. I told J that he was to clean every toy from the floor, since I now had to go through everything in his closet and I wanted to be able to do so comfortably, as in not stepping on and tripping over crap. Then, as added punishment, I pulled all his pants into a big pile and made him try each pair on and relegate them to 3 piles: too small, too big, and just right. Take that. Yes, I’m evil. And somehow he survived:) Trust me, there were a LOT of pants. He gets hand-me-downs from his father’s girlfriend’s son who is a few years older than J.

Come to think of it, the only one in the house who hasn’t pissed me off is the Little One. He’s managed to remain unscathed during all of this. Although, it was pretty funny when, after yelling at Mr. Dawn, little one just smiled and said, “Watcha doin’ Mama??” It was so cute. He seems to ‘get’ me. And I had to smile back. And feel guilty. I’m a mom. That’s what we do.

So I’m pretty much back to normal, I think. Mr. Dawn has retreated to the garage to clean it up before a big remodeling project we are planning. That’s probably for the best.

Gonna hoop today. I was hoping to geocache, but my arthritis is making me kind of miserable right now. Driving and possibly bush-whacking doesn’t sound fun. Maybe next weekend we’ll try to go again.

On another completely unrelated front: I’ve been pondering sewing again. I haven’t touched my machine or any fabric for months now. Part of it is I’m a selfish sewer, and only make stuff for myself. AND….I was thinking that I didn’t want to make stuff while I’m feeling so overweight and icky, because apparently I was going to drop all this weight and then nothing I made would fit. Well, I’m not going to let some idealized goal that I have in my head stop me from sewing stuff for my currently chunky monkey bod. So what if it doesn’t fit someday. I’ll just figure out how to take it in, make new stuff, or both. But like I said, we are in the ‘pondering’ stage. I went down to my studio (actually the kitchen of the downstairs apartment we had), and washed my big sewing table. It had beer rings and some hardened barbecue sauce on it. Did I mention it’s right by the sliding glass doors which are right next to the grill? Then I started organizing some of the counter space. It had kind of fallen into disarray. So, no pressure or anything, just ‘pondering’.

So back to what this blog is supposed to be about: primalocity:) I finally ordered The Primal Blueprint last Thursday. They sent me an email saying it was shipped Friday. Today makes it over a week. I still don’t have the book. I am going to call Monday and find out what happened. So yeah, primal stuff…..I’m eating well. I think maybe I will drop the nightly snacky-snack of fruit, yogurt, nuts, and honey. I think it may be stalling weight loss. Not that I’m chasing a giant loss each week, but I was losing around a pound a week, and this seems to have slowed. But damn, it’s so good. Tonight we’re having steak and some variety of veggies again. Last night’s veggies were a cucumber (from OUR garden), heirloom tomato, and red onion salad, and some grilled corn on the cob. I know, corn’s not really primal, but we eat it so rarely, and we got 4 ears from our CSA share. And you wanna hear something totally grody? The corn comes with free worms in the tip of the corn under the silk!!! Ewwwww!!!! Apparently, since the farm is organic, there’s no safe way to get rid of this particular worm. So the farmer’s have schooled us all in how to deal: just chop off the tip and throw the nasty bits away. We have been offered corn three times this year. The first time, we took it, and did the minor surgical procedure. The second time, I was kind of skeeved by the whole thing and didn’t take the corn. Yesterday, Mr. Dawn fetched the share, and he brought it home.

How’s your weekend going ? Do you wanna kill anyone or at least bite their head off like me? What are you eating? Talk to me, people!!!

2 thoughts on “If Mama Ain’t Happy, Ain’t Nobody Happy

  1. I’m under a lot of stress between nasty PMS symptoms and children getting into trouble so I can totally relate to wanting to rip someone’s head off. I’m feeling a bit better today though.

Leave a Reply

